Search The Record Hub

The Lost Berlin Tapes' were recorded - incredibly in both mono and stereo - at Berlin's Sportpalast on March 25, 1962 and finds Ella at the top of her game with a trio led by pianist Paul Smith, Wilfred Middlebrooks on bass, and Stan Levey on drums. There was just something about Berlin that brought out the best in Ella. Her unique charm, energy and skill are palpable throughout this live recording. She opens with 'Cheek To Cheek', followed by the rarer 'He's My Kind of Boy'. After her behind-the-shoulder scat-heavy salute with 'Jersey Bounce', Ella shifts to a heart-wrenching ballad of the Great American Songbook, 'Angel Eyes'. Ella also sings the Ray Charles hit 'Hallelujah, I Love Him So', singing a reprise that shows Ella's improvisational skills.

Track Listing:
1. Cheek to Cheek - Ella Fitzgerald
2. He's My Kind of Boy - Ella Fitzgerald
3. Cry Me a River - Ella Fitzgerald
4. I Won't Dance - Ella Fitzgerald
5. Someone to Watch Over Me - Ella Fitzgerald
6. Jersey Bounce - Ella Fitzgerald
7. Angel Eyes - Ella Fitzgerald
8. Clap Hands, Here Comes Charlie - Ella Fitzgerald
9. Taking a Chance On Love - Ella Fitzgerald
10. C'est Magnafique - Ella Fitzgerald
11. Good Morning Heartache - Ella Fitzgerald
12. Hallelujah, I Love Him So - Ella Fitzgerald
13. Hallelujah, I Love Him So (Reprise) - Ella Fitzgerald
14. Summertime - Ella Fitzgerald
15. Mr. Paganini - Ella Fitzgerald
16. Mack the Knife - Ella Fitzgerald
17. Wee Baby Blues - Ella Fitzgerald

Year of Production: 2020