Search The Record Hub

Dublin four-piece band The Scratch, recognised for their contemporary and experimental approach to heavy metal and Irish folk music, announce their brand-new album ‘Mind Yourself’, set for release on November 3rd, 2023.Produced by James Vincent McMorrow, ‘Mind Yourself’ sees the band evolve both creatively and sonically, demonstrating a balance between their acoustic side and energetic, raucous sound. Mind Yourself will be available on limited edition etched coloured vinyl, standard black vinyl, CD and digital.Speaking about the single, Daniel Lang (cajón, percussion, lead vocals) explains “myself, Jordo (guitar, lead vocals) and James McMorrow came back from the pub one night and started playing. It was one of those moments where somebody kicked things off and everyone fell into a groove behind it, we all just sat in it, enjoying a symbiotic moment together. Trom II is a cool song for us because we’ve never been in a live-in studio situation where everything’s set up and ready to go. Working with the two James’ (James Vincent McMorrow, Producer, and James Eager, Engineer), introduces a new element to our music. There has never been room for a song like this before with us – when it comes to The Scratch, it’s a bit leftfield which makes it exciting, plus it feels like the right tune to introduce listeners to the many twists and turns this album takes."Formed in 2016, The Scratch rose to prominence following a performance at the annual Rory Gallagher festival which went viral. Releasing their debut album “Couldn’t Give A Rats” one month into the Covid lockdown in 2020, the band re-emerged triumphantly, building a loyal fanbase and selling-out venues across Ireland including two shows in Dublin’s 3Olympia, the UK, Europe, and North America.Continuing their ascent to attaining global recognition, the Dublin quartet have just announced a major tour across Ireland, the UK and Europe. Pre-sale tickets to the tour will be available from Thursday 24th August, followed by general sale on Friday 25th August. For more information visit HEREThis summer the band have been busy supporting Boston-Irish legends Dropkick Murphys across Europe while also performing at major European festivals including a stellar performance to a packed-out tent at All Together Now in Co. Waterford.The Scratch are Daniel Lang, Cathal McKenna, Jordan O’Leary and Conor Dockery

Track Listing:
1. Banshee
2. Cheeky Bastard
3. Hole In The Ground
4. Trom I (The Harrowing Sun)
5. Shoes
6. Blaggard
7. Trom II (A Slip In The Wind)
8. Cold Eye
9. Pocket Full Of Roses