Search The Record Hub

On his second Blue Note album 'Smoke Stack', pianist and composer Andrew Hill used an unusual line-up of two bassists (Richard Davis and Eddie Khan) along with the masterful Roy Haynes on drums. Blue Note founder Alfred Lion considered Hill to have as distinct and important a compositional voice as Thelonious Monk, and the seven Hill compositions that the quartet explore here contain all the rare beauty to be found in his music. Designer Reid Miles photographed Hill himself for the striking album cover design.

Track Listing:
1. Smoke Stack - Andrew Hill
2. The Day After - Andrew Hill
3. Wailing Wail - Andrew Hill
4. Ode to Von - Andrew Hill
5. Not So - Andrew Hill
6. Verne - Andrew Hill
7. 30 Pier Avenue - Andrew Hill

Year of Production: 1966