Search The Record Hub

You know what happened when Converge guitarist Kurt Ballou was enlisted to produce the new Every Time I Die album? Pure sweaty, spitting, bleeding bliss rained down upon the scene - and it was good. On 'From Parts Unknown', Ballou captured a band of MVPs, pushing drummer Ryan Leger up into the mix for maximum propulsion, and steering guitarists Jordan Buckley and Andy Williams into sonic demolition derbies ('The Great Secret', 'Thirst') that hearken back to 2009's 'New Junk Aesthetic', seemingly fuelled by some mix of vengeance, battery acid and bathtub napalm. Frontman Keith Buckley has maintained his stature with a seething that would make Henry Rollins perk up from his MacBook. ('All I want is for everyone to go to hell/It's the last place I was seen before I lost myself,' he growls on the album's stunning closer, 'Idiot', continuing, 'All I want is for everyone to come to hell/There we can be free and learn to love ourselves').

Track Listing:
1. The Great Secret - Every Time I Die
2. Pelican of the Desert - Every Time I Die
3. Decayin' With the Boys - Every Time I Die
4. Overstayer - Every Time I Die
5. If There Is Room to Move, Things Move - Every Time I Die
6. Moor - Every Time I Die
7. Exometrium - Every Time I Die
8. Thirst - Every Time I Die
9. Old Light - Every Time I Die
10. All Structures Are Unstable - Every Time I Die
11. El Dorado - Every Time I Die
12. Idiot - Every Time I Die

Year of Production: 2014