Search The Record Hub

The unhurried artist's first studio album in eight years is astonishing, intimate and demonstrates a refusal to be silenced. The Apple of 2020 is astonishing; as if she has returned to reinvent sound - the rhythms pleasing, but counter, and unusual. On the title track she half-sings over a makeshift orchestra of kitchen implements, dog bark and cat yowl. The beat on 'Under the Table' has a seething back-and-forth pace; the extraordinary 'For Her' beds double Dutch skipping rope rhythms beneath a chorus of female voices. It's striking how intimate Apple's voice sounds here - half-conversational, half-self-mutters, allowing every scuff, breath and feral yelp. She is at her most familiar on 'Ladies', hollering over a soulful backdrop, chewing her own voice like tobacco, then letting it take sweet, sudden flight. 'Fetch the Bolt Cutters' is full of visceral, jittery, wonderfully imperfect performances that make the album feel like a dream-like concert at Largo. It features contributions from Davíd Garza, Sebastian Steinberg, and Amy Aileen Wood.

Track Listing:
1. I Want You to Love Me - Fiona Apple (3.58)
2. Shameika - Fiona Apple (4.09)
3. Fetch the Bolt Cutters - Fiona Apple (4.58)
4. Under the Table - Fiona Apple (3.21)
5. Relay - Fiona Apple (4.49)
6. Rack of His - Fiona Apple (3.42)
7. Newspaper - Fiona Apple (5.32)
8. Ladies - Fiona Apple (5.25)
9. Heavy Balloon - Fiona Apple (3.26)
10. Cosmonauts - Fiona Apple (3.59)
11. For Her - Fiona Apple (2.44)
12. Drumset - Fiona Apple (2.4)
13. On I Go - Fiona Apple (3.09)

Year of Production: 2020