Search The Record Hub

Recorded at the Van Gelder Studio, Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey, on 13th January 1962, but not released until 1980, 'Nigeria' is a classic 'lost' hard-bop album from the guitar legend. Featuring an all-star band of Sonny Clark (piano), Art Blakey (drums) and Sam Jones (bass), the album features Sonny Rollins' 'Airegin', a brilliant take on Ira and George Gershwin's 'It Ain't Necessarily So', Cole Porter's 'I Concentrate On You' and Kern/Hammerstein's 'The Song Is You'.

Track Listing:
1. Airegin - Grant Green (7.33)
2. It Ain't Necessarily So - Grant Green (10.23)
3. Nancy (Bonus Track) - Grant Green (6.24)
4. I Concentrate On You - Grant Green (5.51)
5. The Things We Did Last Summer - Grant Green (5.57)
6. The Song Is You - Grant Green (7.49)

Year of Production: 1980