Search The Record Hub

On 'Deciphering The Message', Chicago-based jazz drummer and producer Makaya McCraven reworks some jazz classics. Tunes by the likes of Art Blakey, Horace Silver, Hank Mobley, Dexter Gordon and Ahmad Jamal are triumphantly reborn into the world of hip-hop. McCraven has chosen and reworked the tracks to work as a complete LP rather than individual tracks. 'I always want to make music that will connect with people in one way, where it makes them nod or feel something or transport them somewhere,' McCraven said in a statement. 'I also hope this makes them check out the source of this music if they have it. The music that we're making now is part of the same route and is connected, so I want to honor tradition and release something that people can vibe to'.

Track Listing:
1. A Slice of the Top (Aka "Sliced Off the Top") - Makaya McCraven
2. Sunset (Aka "Son Set") - Makaya McCraven
3. When Your Lover Has Gone (Aka "When You've Left Your Lover") - Makaya McCraven
4. Ecaroh (Aka "Revlis") - Makaya McCraven
5. Tranquillity (Aka "Corner of the World") - Makaya McCraven
6. Wail Bait (Aka "Wait Bail") - Makaya McCraven
7. Coppin' the Haven (Aka "At the Haven Coppin'") - Makaya McCraven
8. Frank's Tune (Aka "De'Jeff's Tune") - Makaya McCraven
9. Autumn in New York (Aka "Spring in Chicago") - Makaya McCraven
10. Monaco (Aka "Monte Negro") - Makaya McCraven
11. Mr. Jin (Aka "Mr. Gin") - Makaya McCraven
12. C.F.D. (Aka "D.F.C.") - Makaya McCraven
13. Black Rhythm Happening - Makaya McCraven

Year of Production: 2021