Search The Record Hub


First album in six years. 'The Golden Casket' heralds another new chapter in the band's unpredictable evolution. Produced with Dave Sardy and Jacknife Lee in Los Angeles and in Modest Mouse's studio in Portland, the album hovers in the liminal space between raw punk power and experimental studio science, frontman Isaac Brock explores themes ranging from the degradation of our psychic landscapes and invisible technology, to fatherhood. The twelve tracks behave like amorphous organisms, undergoing dramatic mutations and mood swings that speak to the chronic tug-of-war between hope and despair that plays out in Brock's head.

Track Listing:
1. Fuck Your Acid Trip - Modest Mouse
2. We Are Between - Modest Mouse
3. We're Lucky - Modest Mouse
4. Walking and Running - Modest Mouse
5. Wooden Soldiers - Modest Mouse
6. Transmitting Receiving - Modest Mouse
1. The Sun Hasn't Left - Modest Mouse
2. Lace Your Shoes - Modest Mouse
3. Never Fuck a Spider On the Fly - Modest Mouse
4. Leave a Light On - Modest Mouse
5. Japanese Trees - Modest Mouse
6. Back to the Middle - Modest Mouse

Year of Production: 2021