Search The Record Hub

Released in June 1958, 'My Baby Just Cares for Me' was Nina Simone's first studio recording ever. Made when she was 25-years old, the album was a huge success and led to a tremendous career that would yield over 80 studio sessions. It was originally issued on the Bethlehem label and features the singer/pianist backed by bassist Jimmy Bond (who had been a member of the Chet Baker Quartet among other groups) and drummer Albert 'Tootie' Heath (one of the celebrated Heath brothers, along with saxophonist Jimmy Heath, and bassist Percy Heath).

Track Listing:
1. My Baby Just Cares for Me - Nina Simone
2. Mood Indigo - Nina Simone
3. Don't Smoke in Bed - Nina Simone
4. He Needs Me - Nina Simone
5. Little Girl Blue - Nina Simone
6. Love Me Or Leave Me - Nina Simone
7. He's Got the Whole World in His Hands (Bonus Track) - Nina Simone
8. African Mailman (Bonus Track) - Nina Simone
9. Good Bait - Nina Simone
10. Plain Gold Ring - Nina Simone
11. You'll Never Walk Alone - Nina Simone
12. I Loves You Porgy - Nina Simone
13. Central Park Blues - Nina Simone
14. For All We Know (Bonus Track) - Nina Simone

Year of Production: 1958