Search The Record Hub


Parquet Courts' thought-provoking rock is dancing to a new tune. 'Sympathy for Life' finds the Brooklyn band at both their most instinctive and electronic, spinning their bewitching, psychedelic storytelling into fresh territory, yet maintaining their unique identity. Built largely from improvised jams, inspired by New York clubs, Primal Scream and Pink Floyd and produced in league with Rodaidh McDonald (The xx, Hot Chip, David Byrne), 'Sympathy for Life' was always destined to be dancey. Unlike its globally adored predecessor, 2018's 'Wide Awake!' the focus fell on grooves rather than rhythm.

Track Listing:
1. Walking at a Downtown Pace - Parquet Courts
2. Black Widow Spider - Parquet Courts
3. Marathon of Anger - Parquet Courts
4. Just Shadows - Parquet Courts
5. Plant Life - Parquet Courts
6. Application/apparatus - Parquet Courts
7. Homo Sapien - Parquet Courts
8. Sympathy for Life - Parquet Courts
9. Zoom Out - Parquet Courts
10. Trullo - Parquet Courts
11. Pulcinella - Parquet Courts

Year of Production: 2021