Search The Record Hub

Another time, indeed! It's been fifty years since Pearls Before Swine first appeared. A genteel, oft-hushed missive from a far corner of the psychedelic hive mind, 'One Nation Underground' was released on an independent outlier of a record label, removed from the mainstream - and still its spirit came to be deeply appreciated by a generation and more. Today, this music has been reissued by labels around the world dozens of times. Tragic then that it hasn't been heard properly in decades! The stereo record that made it to compact disc in the '90s (and to subsequent vinyl pressings) was a botched job, with reverbs added to evoke a fake stereo image, and an overdub track from the original master lost in the transfer - providing a perfect analog for a release destined not to make the original artists any money at all. The 50th-anniversary edition, however, has been returned to the hands of its creators, restoring the original mono mix that made such an impact in 1967, freed from the muffling veils that time eventually wrapped around it. Cast into a moment of incredible tumult and great discovery, Pearls Before Swine contributed a uniquely earthy strain to the arc of sound that defined the time and place of the later 1960's.

Track Listing:
1. Another Time - Pearls Before Swine (3.06)
2. Playmate - Pearls Before Swine (2.15)
3. Ballad to an Amber Lady - Pearls Before Swine (5.19)
4. (Oh Dear) Miss Morse - Pearls Before Swine (1.54)
5. Drop Out! - Pearls Before Swine (4.03)
6. Morning Song - Pearls Before Swine (4.05)
7. Regions of May - Pearls Before Swine (3.31)
8. Uncle John - Pearls Before Swine (2.48)
9. I Shall Not Care - Pearls Before Swine (5.18)
10. The Surrealist Waltz - Pearls Before Swine (3.32)

Year of Production: 1967