Search The Record Hub

Acoustic Hymns Vol. 1' features twelve newly recorded acoustic versions of classic songs from Richard Ashcroft's back catalogue, spanning both his solo career and his time with The Verve. After lockdown was lifted, Richard decided to start the project as a way to reunite the community around him, bringing a selection of great musicians and old friends back together again. As the project took shape, they discovered just how varied their new approaches could be. Some of the arrangements proved to be timeless and remained similar to the originals, with years of experience and a new found passion that saw Richard's vocals express a fresh empathy within their lyrics. Meanwhile, other songs took on a new shape in this stripped-back set-up. Produced by Richard with regular collaborator Chris Potter, the album features his regular live band boosted by some special collaborators. Wil Malone provides the string arrangements, which were recorded at Abbey Road Studios. In addition, Chuck Leavell (The Rolling Stones, The Allman Brothers) performs piano, Roddy Bloomfield leads the brass section, and Steve Wyreman (Leon Bridges, Vic Mensa) contributes acoustic guitar and backing vocals.

Track Listing:
1. Bittersweet Symphony - Richard Ashcroft
2. A Song for the Lovers - Richard Ashcroft
3. Sonnet - Richard Ashcroft
4. C'mon People (We're Making It Now) [feat. Liam Gallagher] - Richard Ashcroft
5. Weeping Willow - Richard Ashcroft
6. Lucky Man - Richard Ashcroft
7. This Thing Called Life - Richard Ashcroft
8. Space & Time - Richard Ashcroft
9. Velvet Morning - Richard Ashcroft
10. Break the Night With Colour - Richard Ashcroft
11. One Day - Richard Ashcroft
12. The Drugs Don't Work - Richard Ashcroft

Year of Production: 2021