Search The Record Hub

Relocating home to Zambia during the pandemic, Sampa sought to reconnect with a different side of herself, a side that is freer and closer in resemblance to the younger artistry she cultivated growing up in Africa. This process of discovery would become the gateway to revealing her highest version of self. Choosing to collaborate with creatives Rochelle Nembhard and Imraan Christian from South Africa, 'As Above, So Below' introduces us to a 360 Sampa, unveiling her many sides for the first time. From the funny to the serious to the sensual, 'As Above' is Sampa outside's self, and 'So Below', is the Sampa within, together uniting to reveal the most authentic version of Sampa, without a mask, or role to play. 'As Above, So Below' is anchored by spoken word in Bemba. The record delves into Sampa's memories of Africa, Africa's relationship to the world and what womanhood in Africa means to the world. We are also introduced to the persona of Eve, the highest version of Sampa that speaks to all facets of her womanhood. The musical styles of 'As Above, So Below' reflect the hybridity of Sampa's upbringing.

Track Listing:
1. Shadows - Sampa the Great
2. Lane (Feat. Denzel Curry) - Sampa the Great
3. Never Forget (Feat. Chef 187, Tio Nason & Mwanié) - Sampa the Great
4. Mask On (Feat. Joey Bada$$) - Sampa the Great
5. BONA - Sampa the Great
6. Can I Live (Feat. W.I.T.C.H.) - Sampa the Great
7. Imposter Syndrome (Feat. James Sakala) - Sampa the Great
8. Tilibobo - Sampa the Great
9. Lo Rain (Feat. Mwanié) - Sampa the Great
10. IDGAF (Feat. Kojey Radical) - Sampa the Great
11. Let Me Be Great (Feat. Angélique Kidjo) - Sampa the Great

Year of Production: 2023