Search The Record Hub

Originally released in May 1982, 'Combat Rock' is the final album from The Clash of Joe Strummer, Mick Jones, Paul Simonon and Topper Headon, featuring two of the band's most well-known songs, 'Should I Stay Or Should I Go' and 'Rock the Casbah'. The album is re-released here as a 180g 3LP special edition, with an additional 12-tracks compiled by The Clash. Having returned to London following their pivotal 17-show residency at New York's Bond's Casino in 1981, the band rehearsed and recorded at The People's Hall in the squatted Republic of Frestonia near Latimer Road in London and from there they embarked on a tour of the East and South East Asia, during which the album sleeve image was captured by Pennie Smith in Thailand. The tracks on 'The People's Hall' chart the period from what was their last single 'Radio Clash' right up to the release of 'Combat Rock', including unheard, rare and early versions of tracks. Also includes rare Pennie Smith images + 'History of Frestonia' essay by Tom Vague.

Track Listing:
1. Know Your Rights - The Clash
2. Car Jamming - The Clash
3. Should I Stay Or Should I Go - The Clash
4. Rock the Casbah - The Clash
5. Red Angel Dragnet - The Clash
6. Straight to Hell - The Clash
7. Overpowered By Funk - The Clash
8. Atom Tan - The Clash
9. Sean Flynn - The Clash
10. Ghetto Defendant - The Clash
11. Inoculated City - The Clash
12. Death Is a Star - The Clash
1. Outside Bonds (Bonus Track) - The Clash
2. Radio Clash (Bonus Track) - The Clash
3. Futura 2000 (Bonus Track) - The Clash
4. First Night Back in London (Bonus Track) - The Clash
5. Radio One - Mikey Dread (Bonus Track) - The Clash
6. He Who Dares Or Is Tired (Bonus Track) - The Clash
7. Long Time Jerk (Bonus Track) - The Clash
8. The Fulham Connection (Aka the Beautiful People Are Ugly Too) (Bonus Track) - The Clash
1. Midnight to Stevens (Bonus Track) - The Clash
2. Sean Flynn (Bonus Track) - The Clash
3. Idle in Kangaroo Court (Bonus Track) - The Clash
4. Know Your Rights (Bonus Track) - The Clash

Year of Production: 1982