Search The Record Hub

This 3LP compilation is the third volume of the definitive compilation series exploring the finest modern jazz from Japan. Since the first volume in February 2018, the 'J Jazz' series has showcased some of the most creative, inspired and sought-after jazz recorded in Japan during a golden period spanning the 1960s to the 1980s. Illustrating the richness and versatility of the composers and musicians on this collection, the music spans a wide yet coherent range of styles: samba, funk fusion, modal, spiritual, post-bop and bossa all combine to present an aural portrait of a jazz scene that was constantly moving and shifting its multiple musical centres of gravity.

Track Listing:
1. Song of Island - Yasuhiro Kohno Trio + One
2. Cumulonimbus - Shigeharu Mukai
3. Morning Tide - Kohsuke Mine
4. Black Nile (Feat. Hiroshi Fujii) - Hideyasu Terakawa Quartet
1. Song for Hope - Aki Takase Trio
2. Honey Sanba - Itakura Katsuyuki Trio
3. Kirisame - Ryusei Tomoyose Quartet
4. Kemo Sabe - Masao Nakajima Quartet
5. Phoebus - Hiroshi Murakami & Dancing Sphinx
6. Planets - Masaru Imada Trio & One
1. 1/4 Samba II| - Tatsuya Nakamura
2. Cumorah - Eiji Nakayama
3. Acoustic Chicken (Feat. Ryojiro Furusawa) - Koichi Matsukaze Trio

Year of Production: 2021